How To Stop Standing In Your Own Way and Find Success

Building  a business requires sacrifice. You’ll have to develop thick skin. I have been so broke for so long it would make the head of any motivational speaker or small business guru spin. I have had my lights turned out so many times I can’t count. My cars repossessed. Evicted from my home. I have lived in my car. Despite this I worked multiple jobs. Labored on my business into the early hours and then went backed to work.

And that’s just the good part. Here is the truth about being optimistic. I wanted to drive my car off a cliff. My struggles lasted not months or a year but years. So what is optimism. A decision that you are not going to sit by and allow people and life to decide what life is meant for you.

The truth is the affirmations alone are not going to work. You will spend your last nickel. You will feel as though you have nothing left. 

So I ask you now. What are you going to do?

Here a several good ideas from Life Hacks:

A pessimist might ask him/herself questions like:

  • “Why did this happen to me?”
  • “Why do bad things happen to me all the time?”

But an optimist asks him/herself the questions that open up the mind to new viewpoints and possibilities. A few of my favorite questions for finding the optimistic perspective are:

  • “What is one good thing about this situation?”
  • “What can I learn from this situation?”
  • “What is one small step I can take today to start solving this situation?”

So choose to:

  • Spend more time with the people who lift you up. And less time – or no time – with people who just bring you down by being negative and critical. Read: You are the Average of the 5 People You Spend the Most Time With
  • Let in the information that supports you. Spend less time on negative and self-esteem damaging media sources and spend more time reading positive and constructive blogs and books, watching motivating movies, listening to inspirational songs, and listening to audio books and podcasts created by optimistic people.

via Life Hacks

cropped-destiny.jpg

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Posted in Leadership

Leave a Reply

