Why I Did Not Commit Suicide When Everything Said “Do It.”

Have faith, Jim Woods leadership speaker

Strange how time flies.

Storms rage. Adversity stings what seems to be impenetrable doors. And mighty timbers fall.

Perhaps it is unusual for you to hear someone of my stature to speak honestly. I am impervious to gossip.

My God has brought me through tough times to be an example.

More than 25 years ago this month I lived in my car. I’d park my car in a different place along the beach in San Pedro, Ca. My marriage of 30 years to my childhood sweetheart had ended. My church had deemed me a failure. My family considered me not black enough.

I parked my car and cried each night for a week.

Then I went to the dollar store. With what change lined my pockets I purchased a legal pad and a red pen. I went to the library borrowing every book on tape I could.

I was as alone as alone could be. I have been asked in seminars why didn’t I commit suicide?

Yes, the thought briefly occurred to me.

While it sounds silly to some it isn’t silly to me. I did not want to offend God. I knew there were people, in fact millions around the world who would gladly exchange places with me.

Then I remembered the words from Robert Schuller, “Tough times never last but tough people do.”

I could afford a bean burrito a day from Taco Bell until I found a job. I joined Bally’s fitness to work out. Then I mapped and remapped my life.

I want you to know that I accomplished everything on my list. Saying so isn’t a tribute to me.

It is however to the many unseen spirits who lifted me when my courage had been depleted. Whatever your beliefs, there is a God who loves you. Hold on. The clouds will part.

For all terrible storms always have an ending. Jim

If your board of directors are doing there jobs, and you are doing your job there will be a shake up before it has to be ordained from on high: The almighty customer. If you’d like me to visit your firm and pick my brain on how to improve your  bottom-line click here. The link will take you to my contact page on my website. Thank you. Jim

Jim Woods, Leadership speaker, Human Resources Consultant, Business Coach

Jim Woods is a leadership development and training consultant deploying his unique abilities in character based training and strategy.

See a partial list of Jim’s clients. Hire Jim Woods to Speak  | Follow us: Facebook | Follow us: Twitter | Skype ID – jim.woods79 http://www.innothinkgroup.com   Click here to schedule an appointment.

Jim is president of InnoThink Group a human resources and leadership management consulting firm | Skype ID – jim.woods79 http://www.innothinkgroup.com   Click here to schedule an appointment.m. He has an absolute passion for people development and are constantly refining and adapting his programs in order to ensure that they have the maximum impact on those we serve.

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Authentic Leadership

Leave a Reply

