Some Leaders Trump Others: In This Era of Diversity Tim Cook Shouldn’t Matter

Tim Cook

I am straight. It shouldn’t matter. All that should matter is my integrity. However I applaud the courage of Tim Cook making a statement for something he was not required to do. I can’t help but wonder what would be the repercussions if all of us would come out for some item we have held locked away in a “closet.”

What a travesty that it matters that someone has to come out announcing their sexuality. So many people have hidden vices never mentioned. Many of us are so hypocritical. We want excellence in others while expecting so little in ourselves. There are countless straight men who deem themselves manly. So many women who exalt themselves above gay women.

Writes  Cook, “When I arrive in my office each morning, I’m greeted by framed photos of Dr. King and Robert F. Kennedy. I don’t pretend that writing this puts me in their league. All it does is allow me to look at those pictures and know that I’m doing my part, however small, to help others. We pave the sunlit path toward justice together, brick by brick. This is my brick.”

Just imagine if your vices or past was revealed entirely to the public. I assure you what Tim Cook did today required more courage than you in a lifetime.

“And I will personally continue to advocate for equality for all people until my toes point up.” Follow @tim_Cook

Jim Woods teaches CEO’s how to get the most out of their people and their organizations.

Hire Jim Woods, speakers, leadership, consultant, hr, innovationJim is president of InnoThink Group and Leadership Matters.  He is a leader in workplace learning, productivity, performance, and leadership training solutions. For over 25 years, we have helped companies improve their performance, productivity, and bottom-line results.

Contact us See a partial list of Jim’s clients. Click here to Hire Jim Woods to Speak  | Follow us: Facebook | Follow us: Twitter | Skype ID – jim.woods79

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Leadership, Leadership Mastery

Leave a Reply

